Giving Memphis Student-Athletes the Skills to Keep Moving

The MYA Fall Cross Country Program gives elementary, middle, and high school students in Memphis and the surrounding areas the fundamentals to go the distance — during competition and in life.


Fall Cross Country Program

The MYA Fall Cross Country Program runs from September through October. The five- to seven-week season consists of the following events:

  • Three to four regular season meets
  • Frank Horton Classic
  • Championship meet

The series concludes with a regional championship meet that allows athletes from all over West TN a chance to qualify for the state cross country championships.

Elementary and middle school qualifiers will compete in the TN State Elementary and Middle School Cross Country Championships in October. High school qualifiers will compete in the Tennessee Secondary School Athletic Association (TSSAA) Cross Country Championship.

How Our Cross Country Programs Work

Memphis Youth Athletics serves as the meet director and the facilitator during the cross country season. We won’t hold practices for this program, nor do we train athletes during this part of the season.

However, if your school doesn’t have a running program and you’d like one, we’re happy to help get you started. Whether your school has a program or not, you’re homeschooled, or you just love to run—everyone is welcome!


Athletes may compete with a school-based team or “unattached” to any school.

School-based teams are typically school clubs supported by parents and parent-teacher-student organizations (PTSOs).

School-based teams will require a volunteer coach. Coaches can include:

  • PE teachers
  • Parent coaches
  • Volunteers at their school or in the community


Athletes will run varying distances based on their age bracket:

  • Elementary School: 1 mile
  • Middle School: 2 miles
  • High School: 5K (3.1 miles)

Elementary, Middle, & High School Programs

The MYA Fall Cross Country Program is open to all public school, private school, and home school athletes in:

  • Elementary school (grades 3 – 5)
  • Middle school (grades 6 – 8)
  • High school (grades 9 – 12)

We realize that certain school districts have different grade designations for middle school, elementary school, and perhaps even high school. However, we need to adhere to one standard for level competition and organizing meets.

To learn more about each cross country program, please follow the links below.